What is Multiple Sclerosis?

Posted on Updated on

By, Samantha Stambaugh – Shippensburg, PA

November 20, 2013

Many people know someone who is affected by Multiple Sclerosis. Across the world, there are 2.3 million men and women affected with MS.

There are four different types of multiple sclerosis.

The most common type is Relapsing Remitting, which affects 85% of newly diagnosed people. Relapses, or attacks, are followed by a partial or complete recovery and symptoms can be inactive for months or even years.

Secondary Progressive MS occurs when relapses are occasional, but some symptoms remain constant with no remission.

Primary Progressive MS is seen in less than 10% of people with MS. There is a slow onset followed by a continuous worsening of the condition.

Progressive Relapsing MS affects 5% of all people with MS. This type is a steady worsening of the condition after the initial diagnosis and severe relapses with or without complete recovery.

There is currently no known cause and no known cure for the disease.

However, there are 13 types of disease modifying drugs to help patients. These are in intravenous, injection, or pill form.

For more information about MS, visit nmss.org.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s